Backup copies

From ISPWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

This module can be used to manage backup copies. A backup copy is created during the backup process. It can include several archives with files, information about data. The archives are located in storages associated with backup plans, information about data is located in the service database.

See also:

Module«Backup copies»
T-bullet.gif View a list of backups
T-new.png Create a backup copy
T-delete.png Delete backup
T-aid.png Restore backup
T-editlist.png Contents of the backup
T-download.png Download backup
T-upload.png Upload backup

View a list of backups

  • Backup plan - the backup plan that this copy is associated with.
  • Plan type - type of the backup plan: full, differential, incremental.
  • Date - the date and time of the backup creation.
  • Size - the total size of all the archive in the backup copy in bytes.
  • Storage - the place where the backup is stored.
  • Backup type - type of the backup copy. If you select "Full", only the "Full" type will be displayed. If you select the "Differential" backup plan, "Full", "Differential" will display. If you select the "Incremental" backup plan, "Full", "Incremental" will display.

If multiple storages are associated with the backup plan, the list will show information per each storage enabling you to delete copies from each storage.

Create a backup copy

You can easily make a backup copy without creating a backup plan. Select a storage, and in the form that will open a temporary backup plan will be created automatically. The backup copy will be based on that plan. The -{level}-{username} template is used for generating a plan name. The minus sign at the beginning is a special character that helps to avoid conflicts with names of the plans that were created manually. Once completed, the backup copy will display in the module.

Delete backup

To delete a backup copy, select it from the list and click the "Delete" icon. Confirm that you want to delete the selected backup (including archives and storage information) by clicking "OK" in the following window.

Restore backup

To restore data from the backup copy, select it and click the "Restore" icon. Archives with files will be downloaded from the first available storage associated with that backup plan:

ISPmanager

Module «Backup copies»
  • Behavior - select how to restore the data.
    • Skip existing data - do not restore the data that already exist in the system. E.g.: if you have a "User" user, which is included into the backup copy, no changes will be made to this "User".
    • Edit existing data - if the backup copy contains data that exist in the system while restoring, data parameters will be changed, and archives with files will used instead of the existing ones. For example, there is a "User" user, which data are included into the backup copy, limits, passwords, and access details that existed while making the backup copy, will be saved and applied.

When recovering a Web-domain, the IP address assigned to that web-domain, might be missing on the server interface. The following information will help to resolve this issue.

  • IP addresses are not assigned - select a desired action with the web-domain's IP address, which is missing on the server network interface.
    • do not change - восстановление таких web-доменов будет невозможно.
    • select IP addresses - only missing addresses will be changed into those provided in the list.
    • change automatically - all the IP addresses of the web-domain will be automatically changed into selected IPs.

VMmanager OVZ

Module «Backup copies»
  • Behavior - select how to restore the data.
    • Do not include existing data - if the backup copy contains data that exist in the system while restoring, those data won't be restored. E.g.: if you have a "User" user, which is included into the backup copy, no changes will be made to this "User".
    • Edit existing data - if the backup copy contains data that exist in the system while restoring, data parameters will be changed, and archives with files will used instead of the existing ones. For example, there is a "User" user, which data are included into the backup copy, limits, passwords, and access details that existed while making the backup copy, will be saved and applied.
  • Cluster node - select a cluster node where this container will be created.
  • Owner - select a control panel's user who will owner of this container. Select "Add new" to create a new user for each container.

Please note! The Cluster node and Owner are shown only if the container you want to restore is not present in the system (was removed). Existing containers are restored with current values in the Cluster node and Owner.

  • It's not possible to recover a virtual machine while running long-time operations, such as migration, import, etc.

Download backup

To download a backup copy to your local computer, select the corresponding record and click the "Download" icon.


Upload backup

To upload a backup copy from your local computer, select the corresponding copy and click the "Upload" icon.